President Muhammadu Buhari swore in 16 of the 18 newly appointed permanent secretaries in the Federal Civil Service at the presidential villa in Abuja on Thursday.


Please, scroll down for photos below!

It seems that President Muhammadu Buhari has embraced a different approach in choosing permanent secretaries, as traditional written and oral tests before appointment were replaced with the “more rigorous selection process”.


Speaking shortly after administering the oath of office on the new permanent secretaries, the president tasked them to see their appointment as an emergency call to duty as they came at a time when the nation’s economy was ailing.

READ ALSO: Fayemi Has Explained How He Intends To Achieve President Buhari’s Dreams


Addressing 16 of the 18 new Permanent Secretaries the president stated: “In keeping with the change mantra of this administration, the process for your selection as permanent secretaries was a departure from the previous practice of administering written and oral examinations. 


Instead, a more rigorous selection process, entailing vigorous screening of candidates’ past records, potential and capacity for holding the office, integrity, honesty and sense of commitment was adopted. It is my hope that your subsequent conduct and performance will not prove this administration wrong. 


This ​a​dministration will not condone any excesses, indifference, incompetence, and corrupt practices in any form. Permanent secretaries are therefore advised to note these words of caution and disseminate them to all civil servants accordingly.

READ ALSO: Permanent Secretaries Under Fire As Presidency Begins Probe


If Nigeria has to realize its full potentials for greatness, its civil service must first understand and accept the ‘change mantra’ of this Administration, and then lead its spread through all the institutions of governance and the economy.”


Sixteen new appointees who have taken the oath of office include ​Ayotunde Adesugba, Taiwo Abidogun, Bukar Hassan, Wakama Belema Asifieka, Jalal Ahmad Arabi, Sabiu Zakari, Obiageli Phyllis Nwokedi and Aminu Nabegu.

READ ALSO: “President Buhari Makes More Mistakes In Cabinet Appointments Than Jonathan”


Others are Alo Williams Nwankwo, Shehu Ahmed, Ogbonnaya Innocent Kalu, Nuratu Jimoh Batagarawa, Christian Chinyeaka Ohaa, Bassey Ak​p​anyung, Louis Edozien and Ugo Roy. Dr. Mahmoud Isa-Dutse and Bamgbose Olukunle Oladele would be sworn in later as they ​were out of the country at the time of the ceremony.

The post PHOTOS: Buhari Changes Rules Of Selecting And Appointing Permanent Secretaries appeared first on Nigeria News today & Breaking news | Read on NAIJ.COM.

Powered by WPeMatico

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *