Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa has been elected as Acting President of South Africa.

Born 17 November 1952, Ramaphosa takes over power as a result of the resignation of Jacob Zuma.

He is the fifth President of South Africa following a vote of the National Assembly held on 15 February 2018.

Previously an anti-apartheid activist, trade union leader and businessman, he has been the Deputy President of South Africa since 2014.

He was elected as President of the African National Congress (ANC) at the ANC National Conference in Nasrec, South of Johannesburg in December 2017.

He is also the Chairman of the National Planning Commission, which is responsible for strategic planning for the future of South Africa, with the goal of rallying the nation “around a common set of objectives and priorities to drive development over the longer term”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *